Cannabis for arthritic dog

From one of our readers

I have a friend with a severely arthritic older large dog. Without anyone’s knowledge he got into some medicinal brownies and managed to eat three. The knowledge of this went unnoticed until the following Day whereupon he was running like a puppy and had slept the entire night peacefully. I’m passing this information on in hopes it might help some other dogs out there. Remember that chocolate Can be poisonous to dogs, especially dark chocolate, so you might want to adjust the recipe to oatmeal cookies and obviously allow for the dogs weight. Please use at your own discretion as I am not a veterinarian. Good luck

 

From the comments:

DO NOT GIVE DOGS CHOCOLATE

I, as well as a veterinarian I know, both treat our dogs for several conditions, one of which is arthritis. My 12 year old English Pointer has never slept better, and he is relatively pain free and high spirits in the days following continued treatment. I give him a 1/4 grain of rice sized RSO dab on a biscuit and a full meal, plenty of water on hand. This, after our morning activities, so from mid-morning until lunch time. He’ll sleep like a dream, wake up, ask me to go out, where we do our midday routine. I may or may not give it to him again, but once a day so far, for at one time moderate arthritic pain, seems to be helping a good bit. It is also a mood enhancer. He gets very mellow (sleep), then wakes full of energy. I just used it for this purpose on New Year’s Eve. He has problems with all the fireworks. In essence, I use it very similarly to my own needs. The Endocannabinoid System is present in all animals. I’ve even know a well versed guy who steered a friend of his into using it for an injured horse. This cannabis oil is miraculous, in my opinion, and I use this word sparingly. We are slowly waking up to the potentials of this incredible, sacred, historic plant.

8 thoughts on “Cannabis for arthritic dog

  1. I’m very concerned about this as chocolate is poisonous for dogs making them sick or even killing them . I would think twice before giving a dog anything with chocolate in it .
    But it is interesting to know that cannabis would help an arthritic dog .
    Possibly give the dog capsules with finely ground cannabis in them to see if that would help .
    Give it to them before or right after a meal so as to not upset their stomach .
    Dogs and chocolate are a big no no .

    Like

    • ” I would think twice before giving a dog anything with chocolate in it.” Absolutely. Actually, I wouldn’t give it to him at all. Whereas cannabis tends to slow the heart rate, chocolate is a well known stimulant, which increases the heart rate. Too much can most certainly kill them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi.. FYI my mom’s maltese poodle lived for 19years and had a piece of chocolate every night of her life… even when she was blind and deaf she knew EXACTLY where and when that chocolate bar was being opened…
        I have a 9 year old ridgeback who has shoulder arthritis and she is in alot of pain… I started her on straight oil yesterday… I am praying it kicks in soon and works it magic on her… it kills me to see my beautiful girl in so much pain…

        Like

  2. I, as well as a veterinarian I know, both treat our dogs for several conditions, one of which is arthritis. My 12 year old English Pointer has never slept better, and he is relatively pain free and high spirits in the days following continued treatment. I give him a 1/4 grain of rice sized RSO dab on a biscuit and a full meal, plenty of water on hand. This, after our morning activities, so from mid-morning until lunch time. He’ll sleep like a dream, wake up, ask me to go out, where we do our midday routine. I may or may not give it to him again, but once a day so far, for at one time moderate arthritic pain, seems to be helping a good bit. It is also a mood enhancer. He gets very mellow (sleep), then wakes full of energy. I just used it for this purpose on New Year’s Eve. He has problems with all the fireworks. In essence, I use it very similarly to my own needs. The Endocannabinoid System is present in all animals. I’ve even know a well versed guy who steered a friend of his into using it for an injured horse. This cannabis oil is miraculous, in my opinion, and I use this word sparingly. We are slowly waking up to the potentials of this incredible, sacred, historic plant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

