A year ago I was about to commit suicide. Marijuana played a huge role in my recovery.

Via r/trees

I’ll try to keep this short. I use timehop and today it showed me a picture I took a year ago today. That picture was of my hospital bracelet when I was admitted to the ER for being a suicide risk. I was on a high dose of an anti depressant that wasn’t working and all I wanted to do was kill myself to get rid of the agony I was experiencing constantly. A few days later I met up with a new friend and they offered me to join them when they toked. At first I declined but the more we talked about weed and it’s medicinal qualities the more I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try it. I smoked that night for the first time and the next day I felt like someone had sucked the depression right out of me. I was happy and energetic for the first time in months.

A year later, I have smoked almost every night since and I have grown to a place where I can say that I am happy to be alive, with the skills to combat my mental illnesses when the symptoms pop up. I have grown more as a person in this past year than in all of my growing up. Depression puts a damper on everything and in my case it also prevented me from discovering who I am and what my purpose is. All of my energy was focused on survival for so long. There wasn’t anything left for self exploration.

I want to tell the world, over and over again, MARIJUANA SAVED MY LIFE.

4 thoughts on “A year ago I was about to commit suicide. Marijuana played a huge role in my recovery.

Leave a Reply

