Are drug companies making a marijuana super pill?

A bud of super silver haze.

Image via Wikipedia

Reprinted with permission from the author. Source: Current

My name is Michael Dancheck; I am a 40 year old Network Engineer that has been recently disabled due to severe nerve pain caused from overuse of my right arm. I also happen to fall into the 1% – 4% of people that experience serious side effects from all of the medications that can help alleviate my pain. I found that on occasion marijuana would help with several of my symptoms and didn’t understand why it didn’t work all of the time. I immersed myself in the subject and began extensive research. I was intrigued by all the information I found and taught myself how to cultivate legally under Colorado law. I want the public to understand all I have learned about marijuana and my thoughts of why the FDA really wants to keep this plant illegal.

What does not make sense to me is that the marijuana plant is deemed as having NO medicinal value by the FDA. Through my research, I found each strain has a different chemical composition which is why we experience different effects with each one. Marijuana is mostly comprised of THC, Cannabinoids, and Flavonoids. THC helps to relieve pain and has psychoactive properties. Cannabinoids have different effects for each type ranging from: pain relief, nausea relief, anxiety relief. One type, CBN, shrinks and kills tumors. Flavonoids are proven to protect against heart disease.

Currently, the drug companies are producing Marinol which is 100% THC. Why does the FDA allow them to make this drug if the plant has no medicinal value? Now, they are trying to synthetically make each type of identified cannabinoid. Their plan is to make several types of pills. Each of which will contain different levels and combinations of THC and Cannabinoids so they can target specific ailments/diseases with each pill.

This brings us to the question which should be presented to the FDA. Why are the drug companies permitted to make Marinol if marijuana is classified as having no medicinal value? Since these drugs are mimicking every element of the marijuana plant why is this plant still illegal? Although you can not patent a plant, you can however patent a process or chemical. As long as this plant remains illegal the drug companies stand to make billions if they can perfect these pills. America deserves to know who’s being paid off

Please consider my story.

Regards,
Mike Dancheck

4 thoughts on “Are drug companies making a marijuana super pill?

  1. Curious as to “how much” marijuana is considered “for medicinal use” in the instance of pregnancy. Where are the actual studies showing there are no bad effects vs all the studies we read stating the opposite?

    Like

  2. Yo i think tat 0.5 -1.0 grams are suitable for one dosage of medical use, of course judging by the THC content. Like 0.5 of haze and 1.0 of kush or something like that. Keif is also pure THC pretty much… (stuff at the bottom of the grinder. so like northern lights+ a pinch of keif will get it good. Also vaporizers are a safer method then the ocassionall J.
    -Jon C

    Like

  3. i AM ALL FOR THE LEGALIZATION OF MEDICAL CANNIBAS USE IN ALL 50 USA STATES. AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICALS KNOW THEY ARE GOING TO LOSE MONIES, AS WELL AS RESEARCH AND GOVERNMENT PERSONEL ON THE LEGALIZATION, SO THEY MAKE SURE IT DOESN’T HAPPEN. ONLY CHEMICALS CAN BE PUMPED INTO OUR BODIES CAUSING MORE CANCER. SO WRONG.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.