Personal story from a reader: CLEAN for 4 years from IV heroin addiction by using Cannabis

The following comment was posted tonight to this article: Marijuana Treats Addiction

I’ve been using cannabis to curve my appetite for Opiates. I was an IV opiate user for 18years. After many treatments (inpatient varying from 1 to 6months), methadone, 12 step follow through attempts. My M. O. was kick feel better put pieces of life back together than as soon as I felt better I would lose it all again. This sounds overdramatic because it was, I became unbelievably discouraged with life. I have always loved marijuana but I was always told all or nothing. I would find smoking took away my cravings? The problem guilt for lying to those around me in recovery who would have not have been OK with me using more then asprin. Finally I excepted I was going to die with a needle in my arm or I’m going to get stoned when I want and fuck dishonesty and guilt! I’m OK with needing something, I was rapidly running out of time trying to adapt to spiritual principles that people have recovered with successfully. I haven’t had a spike in my vain or any opiod use for 4 years now. After spending 20 going back and forth from clean to using with never more then a total of 118 days consecutively without relapse. It was my ego not wanting to admit I couldn’t do what others could on there spiritual journey of recovery. Once I stop caring what you thought and respected my choice I was free. . Now it’s amazing to have so many folks with similar pasts experiencing the same results. Fellowship is important and as more people realize the lesser of two evils is OK the larger it gets! – anonymous

2 thoughts on “Personal story from a reader: CLEAN for 4 years from IV heroin addiction by using Cannabis

Leave a Reply

